Hope in the Valley of the Sun

4

This past Monday afternoon, Frank and I had our first 2nd trimester cervical screen where they measure the length of your cervix. I approached the appointment with minimal apprehension, assuming all would be well.

Our ultrasound technician surprised us with another peek at our little ones, and all was well. Everyone continues to have strong heart beats and are growing appropriately. They also have nestled into their locations, which makes identifying babies much easier for the trained eye. To me, it just looks like a big slumber party.

After we got to check-in on our little miracles they performed a trans-vaginal ultrasound to examine my cervix. The tech’s tone at this point completely changed. She measured it at least ten times and would not relay any information. Frank and I had no idea what was ahead, but we got a sense when we were walked down the hall to what was clearly a “bad news room” that that is what awaited us.

We just looked at each other as we waited for the doctor to come and see us, trying to figure out what was so wrong. When the doctor arrived he relayed that my cervix was 1.2 to 1.6cm in length, where ideally it would be greater than 3cm at 19 weeks into pregnancy, or at least 2.5cm. He then informed us that pre-term labor was inevitable within the next 3-4 weeks and there was nothing we could do about it.  I inquired about bed rest, medications, inversion and cerclage (the stitching of the cervix); he said there was nothing we could do to help, nothing. Then, the tears started to flow, and flow, and flow for the next 2 days… Until!

Until, I was praying on Wednesday morning asking for clarity and that my mind would quiet so, I could hear His still small voice granting me direction. The thought of simply being a ticking time bomb awaiting an ugly delivery was angering and fearful. Then, I remembered that His perfect love casts out all fear and that I needed to rely on His love which has been with us since day one of this journey. I calmed down and realized that we were not helpless, we definitely still had several choices.

I then hopped on Facebook and extended a question to my other momma’s of multiples and the answer was clear: We needed to switch doctors, get a cerclage and consider moving to Arizona. As scary as all of that may sound to someone who does not enjoy being away from her husband and family, traveling, or being awake during surgical procedures (aka me), I was at complete peace. I picked up the phone and called the best high order perinatalogist in the country.

He continued to build upon this renewed optimism, but also made it clear that time was our enemy and if we were going to save our pregnancy it needed to happen by Friday, or in 2 days. So, one door opened after another and I am now writing this post from a hospital bed in Mesa, Arizona awaiting my cerclage in 3 hours.

My devotional this morning read:

By faith Abrahsunriseam, when called to go to a place he would later receive as his inheritance, obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going. By faith he made his home in the promised land like a stranger in a foreign country…11 And by faith even Sarah, who was past childbearing age, was enabled to bear children because she[a] considered him faithful who had made the promise.” (Hebrews 11:8-9, 11)

I am certainly in a place that recognize as an inheritance from God. It is a promised land filled with proactive, compassionate physicians and kind, optimistic nurses. Though I am of childbearing age, I was enabled to bear children only by his grace. This assurance of faith and God’s love has certainly restored our hope here in the Valley of the Sun.

14 thoughts on “Hope in the Valley of the Sun

  1. God Bless you all. I am happy that you are where you need to be both Spiritually and geographically!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Praying for you, the babies, your family, your MD’s and RN’s, and for His hand to guide you all safely down His path. Hang in there, have faith, and know that the people who love you are here for you – even states away!
    Xoxo!
    -Jeanette

  3. May all prayers be answered in Jesus’ name to our Heavenly Father that Cassie, Frank and the V-5 will all remain in His Love through the power of the Holy Spirit. Amen!
    Love, dad

  4. Cassie, you are amazing! We are all praying for you and your babes. I have you on the prayer list at church, too. Please keep us posted, as we think about you EVERY DAY!

  5. I don’t know you, but a friend of yours and mine posted your blog so I have been following your story, and I am praying for you. Your faith is very inspirational. Stay strong.

  6. Prayers are with you Cassie, Frank and those 5 little miracles. We are glad you got the help you needed and if AZ is the place you were guided, then let that be your home for now. Take good care because we ALL care. Love and hugs to you long distance – Donna & Ken xo xo

  7. Thank you for th update and the optimism Cassie, it’s much easier when we know exactly what to pray for! Prayering for you and Frank- tell him he can come over for dinner anytime while you’re gone 🙂 Blessings.

  8. Cassie, We are sending a lot of prayers your way. Hoping God will take care of you and the five precious little babies. God’s love to you all.

  9. Praying for you guys! You are such an inspiration of faith. Its so important to be grounded in the knowledge of who is in control. Love and prayers for all of you!!!

  10. Pingback: For those of you who know me… | Bump 2 Bab[y]ies

Leave a Reply

