Woes and Wishes of the First Trimester

The first trimester poses something new with each week. The two-week wait presents great anticipation of finding out whether you have been part of the miracle of conception, as well as, the opportunity to strengthen your patience. In week three and four you begin to realize that your body is certainly not your own. As your blood volume begins to increase your heart rate, blood pressure and respiratory rate all tend to also increase, which left me exhausted and out of breath. It is amazing how nature has a way of slowing down even the busiest of all the bees. Then, come the GI (gastrointestinal or belly) woes. Bloating, indigestion and the beloved “morning” sickness all of which can be attributed to the hormones that are bouncing around like Flubber. My biggest woe has certainly been “morning” sickness, which for me has been 24/7 nausea.  I am very grateful that everything has stayed down, because we know every nutrient counts. I’d love to take a moment to share my tried and true tips for nausea.

The Do’s and Do Not’s of Morning Sickness

  • Do take 60-100mg of extra vitamin B6 everyday.
  • Do get your hands on ginger chews and ginger tea.
  • Do have your own stash of seltzer water and salty snacks on your person at all times…in your purse, car, desk, bag and table next to your bed.
  • Do get fresh air. For me, there was nothing like taking a walk around the block.
  • Do try a cold cloth on your forehead and back of neck.
  • Do stay hydrated with ice cold water.
  • Do purchase Seabands…they rock.
  • Don’t eat really fatty or smelly foods. The high fat foods take a long time to digest which delay transit time. Smelly foods (spicy foods, fish, etc) can trigger the nausea center in your brain, which usually doesn’t end well.
  • Don’t become constipated. If you can help to keep that train running you will prevent the intestinal traffic jam that can cause a nasty back-up. Focus on whole grains and fruits and vegetables that you can tolerate.
  • Don’t eat foods that don’t sound good. Food aversions are odd to me. Foods you love can quickly become foods that you cannot even think twice about. Don’t force it, save them for later because this too shall pass.
  • Don’t wait until you are hungry to eat. Establish a meal pattern, such as every 2-3 hours. An empty stomach is not your friend.

Alright, thank you for entertaining my list. Hopefully, some of you find it helpful. Onto a few more woes and wishes. During week 8, my nausea began to subside, which was scary for me because up until that point that’s how I knew I was not alone. My greatest fear at this point remains miscarriage. So, I am highly cognoscente of my signs and symptoms. This fear only escalated during week 9, this is a warning that if you’re grossed out by lady talk skip on to the next paragraph.  During week 9, I started spotting. It is really frightening to bleed during pregnancy, because I immediately think Aunt Flow has come for a visit and she doesn’t visit pregnant folks. I called my docs and they assured me that as long as it is not accompanied by cramping or back pain and does not increase in flow that everything is alright. I’ve heard a variety of reasons for bleeding during pregnancy, including:

  • Implantation
  • Placenta Formation and Attachment
  • Blood clots created during placenta formation
  • Bursting of blood vessels
  • Uterine growth and contractions

My plan is to keep a close eye on things and make a follow-up to ensure that everything is alright, so please be praying for this.

My greatest wish at this point is to make it to 32-34 weeks miscarriage free because I know at that point my babies have the best chance of a handicap free life.  I also hope and pray that I can create the ideal environment in my belly for their growth and development.

All of these woes and wishes, hit me pretty hard on the way to work yesterday. Then, I was blessed by a song on the radio; “I need you now, how many times” by Plumb. Amazing song and exactly what I needed to hear.  I hope it inspires you, too!

Written by: Cassie Vanderwall

8 thoughts on “Woes and Wishes of the First Trimester

  1. Cassie and Frank,
    I am so excited for you guys!!! I’m carrying baby #2 and can only imagine the excitement of carrying multiples!!!!! Just remember that God would never give you more than you can handle- sometimes that is the only thought that can get me through the day (or the thought of putting on sweatpants). But seriously, you both will be in my thoughts and prayers.

    • Thanks, Danielle! Seabands are basically mini-sweatbands that go on your wrists that have a plastic ball on the inside. They utilize principles of acupressure to press upon the Nei-Kwan point which helps to control nausea related to motion or morning sickness. Good question!

  2. Hi Cassie! In reading, I see you’re past the “morning sickness” phase, I just figured I’d leave this recipe for my “Tummy Tea” for you in case it returns (as it has been known to do in the last trimester!)

    “Tummy Tea”
    8-10 Mint Green Tea bags
    1/4-1/2 cup honey (or more if you’re a sweeter tooth!)
    zest of 1/2 lemon
    fresh, grated ginger (to taste – I usually went with about 1-3 tsp)
    5-6 fresh mint leaves, muddled with a little sugar to bring out the flavor

    In about 5 qts of H2O, bring tea to just BELOW a boil. Let steep for 5-8 minutes. Add honey, lemon, ginger, and muddled mint mixture to tea and stir well!!

    I usually let this cool, since I was adverse to hot liquids during my first pregnancy, but it is good either way!

    JR and I are both hoping and praying for the best for you and your pending family! Lots of hugs and kisses to you and the “bump”!
    -Jeanette

      • Oh, boo! Sorry to hear that! Know you’re not alone, I’ve had multiple friends who’ve had it all pregnancy. Hopefully it won’t last so long for you!! Oh, and just an FYI I forgot to post – you can add more ginger or mint, too, as antinauseas if you feel you need it and can – ironically – stomach that much ginger or mint 🙂

Leave a Reply

